Skip to main content

.2509 Standards for Continued Certification as a Specialist in Juvenile Delinquency Law

The period of certification is five years. A certified specialist who desires continued certification must apply for continued certification within the time limit described in Rule .2509(d) below. No examination will be required for continued certification. However, each applicant for continued certification as a specialist shall comply with the specific requirements set forth below in addition to any general standards required by the board of all applicants for continued certification.

(a) Substantial Involvement - The specialist must demonstrate that for the five years preceding reapplication he or she has had substantial involvement in the specialty or subspecialty as defined in Rule .2508(b).

(b) Continuing Legal Education - The specialist must have earned no less than 65 hours of accredited continuing legal education credits in criminal law and juvenile delinquency law with not less than six credits earned in any one year. Of the 65 hours, at least 20 hours shall be in juvenile delinquency law, and the balance may be in the following related fields: substantive criminal law, criminal procedure, trial advocacy, and evidence.

(c) Peer Review - The applicant must provide, as references, the names of at least six lawyers or judges, all of whom are licensed and currently in good standing to practice law in this state, practice in the field of juvenile delinquency law or criminal law or preside over juvenile delinquency or criminal law proceedings, and are familiar with the competence and qualification of the applicant as a specialist. An applicant must receive a minimum of three favorable peer reviews to be considered by the board for compliance with this standard. All other requirements relative to peer review set forth in Rule .2508(d) of this subchapter apply to this standard.

(d) Time for Application - Application for continuing certification shall be made not more than 180 days nor less than 90 days prior to the expiration of the prior period of certification.

(e) Lapse of Certification - Failure of a specialist to apply for continued certification in a timely fashion will result in a lapse of certification. Following such lapse, recertification will require compliance with all requirements of Rule .2508 of this subchapter, including the examination.

(f) Suspension or Revocation of Certification - If an applicant’s certification has been suspended or revoked during the period of certification, then the application shall be treated as if it were for initial certification under Rule .2508 of this subchapter.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 84-23

Adopted by the Supreme Court August 25, 2011

Amendments Approved by the Supreme Court: March 27, 2019

Back to top