# INSTRUCTIONS FOR PETITIONERS FOR RELINQUISHMENT OF MEMBERSHIP

### **Procedure**

The petition must be reviewed by the Administrative Committee and approved by the NC State Bar Council. The committee and the council meet quarterly in January, April, July, and October of each year. The dates of the meetings are posted on the NC State Bar's website: www.ncbar.gov.

### **Instructions for Completing and Filing Petition**

- 1. Print or type the petition. Complete, date, and sign the petition to acknowledge that you have read and understand the questions or statements on the petition. **The petition must be notarized.**
- 2. The mandatory membership and CLE fees, for the year in which you file the petition, must be current. If you have not paid the current year's membership fees, contact the Membership Department at (919) 828-4620, for the balance owed to the State Bar. For questions concerning your CLE fees, contact the CLE department at (919) 733-0123.
- 3. The petition must be postmarked on or before December 31<sup>st</sup> to avoid incurring the mandatory membership fees for the following year.
- 4. Mail the petition and any supporting documentation to:

NC State Bar Membership Department PO Box 26088 Raleigh, NC 27611

Petitions received 30 days prior to the meeting of the State Bar Council will receive a confirmation notice (via mail or e-mail). Petitions submitted later than 30 days prior to the meeting may be delayed in processing until the next quarterly State Bar meeting. Keep a copy of your petition for your records. Please contact the Membership Department at (919) 828-4620 if you do not receive a confirmation notice.

5. If your petition for relinquishment is granted by the State Bar Council, an order will be mailed to the address you provide on the petition within a couple of weeks after the meeting.

#### **Effect of Relinquishment:**

If you relinquish your license pursuant to 27 N.C.A.C. Chapter 1A, Rule .0301, you are prohibited from representing that you are 1) a lawyer in North Carolina, 2) licensed to practice law in North Carolina, 3) able to practice law in North Carolina, or 4) a member of the North Carolina State Bar. If, after relinquishing your membership, you desire to return to the practice of law in the state of North Carolina, you must apply to the North Carolina Board of Law Examiners and satisfy all of the requirements to obtain a license to practice law in the state of North Carolina as if for the first time.



# PETITION FOR RELINQUISHMENT OF MEMBERSHIP TO THE COUNCIL OF THE NORTH CAROLINA STATE BAR

1.	Name:	State Bar #

2. The address and telephone numbers where communications from the State Bar should be sent:

Street Address

City, State, Zip

Home Phone #

Work Phone #

E-mail Address Cell Phone # (Please monitor your e-mail for correspondence concerning your relinquishment petition.)

- 3. I desire to relinquish my membership in the North Carolina State Bar.
- 4. I have paid all membership dues, assessments, and fees owed to the North Carolina State Bar, including those for the current year. I have also paid all fees owed to my local judicial district bar.
- 5. To my knowledge, there are no open, unresolved allegations of professional misconduct pending against me in any jurisdiction. I acknowledge that, if this petition is granted, that relinquishment is not a bar to the initiation or investigation of allegations of professional misconduct and shall not prevent the State Bar from prosecuting a disciplinary action against me for any violation of the Rules of Professional Conduct that occurred prior to the date of the order of relinquishment.
- 6. I understand that if I relinquish my membership that I cannot represent that I am 1) a lawyer in North Carolina, 2) licensed to practice law in North Carolina, 3) able to practice law in North Carolina, or 4) a member of the North Carolina State Bar. Effective as of the date I am granted relinquishment, I have properly withdrawn from the representation of all clients and, with regard to matters in litigation, I have followed the court's protocol for withdrawal.
- 7. I understand that if I relinquish my membership and desire to return to the practice of law in the state of North Carolina, I must apply to the North Carolina Board of Law Examiners and satisfy all of the requirements to obtain a license to practice law in the state of North Carolina as if for the first time.
- 8. If applicable, I have filed the appropriate documents with the NC Secretary of State, Corporations Division, and the NC State Bar to dissolve or amend the articles of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, the professional organization with which I was affiliated. (PA / PC / PLLC name)
- 9. If applicable, I have filed a motion to withdraw as the responsible NC lawyer for an out-of-state lawyer admitted *pro hac vice* and I have provided the State Bar with a copy of the court's order granting the motion.
- 10. I wish for my petition to be considered at the \_\_\_\_\_\_ State Bar Council meeting.

(January, April, July, or October)

11. By signing this petition, I confirm I have read and understand the questions or statements herein.

State of \_\_\_\_\_ County of \_\_\_\_\_ I certify that the following person personally appeared before me this day, acknowledging to me that he or she voluntarily signed the foregoing document for the purpose stated therein and in the capacity indicated: \_\_\_\_\_ (name of petitioner) This the \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 20\_\_\_\_. Official Signature of Notary: \_\_\_\_\_ Notary Public Notary's printed or typed name: \_\_\_\_\_ (Official Seal) My commission expires: \_\_\_\_\_\_. Signature of Petitioner Date

 For Office Use Only

 Membership Fees Owed \_\_\_\_\_\_
 JD Dues Owed \_\_\_\_\_\_

 CLE Fees Owed \_\_\_\_\_\_
 CLE ARF Owed \_\_\_\_\_\_
 PHV Sponsor? \_\_\_\_\_\_