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Post Office Box 25908 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611 
Telephone: (919) 828-4620 
Web: www.ncbar.gov 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING 

PRO HAC VICE ADMISSION REGISTRATION STATEMENT 

Filed by the North Carolina Responsible Attorney 
Rev. 4/4/18 

 

 Complete and mail the registration form to the North Carolina State Bar at the address listed 

above within 30 days of the entry of the pro hac vice admission order. 

 

 Registration is required in conjunction with pro hac vice admission to a North Carolina 

tribunal. See G.S. 84-4.1 (5). Registration is not required for pro hac vice admission to a 

federal court, but is required for pro hac vice admission to the NC Court of Appeals and the 

NC Supreme Court. 

 

 Registration is not required for any pro hac vice admission order entered prior to March 2, 

2006.  

 

 Copy of Order: Enclose a copy of the pro hac vice admission order with the registration form. 

(no staples please) 

 

 Statement of Tax Reporting (Item 5 on the Registration Statement): Attach a signed 

statement (original or photocopy will be acceptable) from the out of state attorney confirming 

that he or she will report income to the North Carolina Department of Revenue if required to 

do so by law. The out of state attorney must determine whether the income is reportable and 

whether and when to file a tax return. 

 

Suggested wording for the statement: “Regarding the matters identified in items 3 & 4 of the 

Pro Hac Vice Registration Statement, I, [out of state attorney’s name], verify that I will report 

any income earned to the North Carolina Department of Revenue if required to do so by law.” 

(Please list the case caption above the signed statement.) 

 

 Payment Information: Confirm that the out of state attorney has paid the $25 fee owed to the 

North Carolina State Bar pursuant to G.S. 84-4.1(7).  

 

o When filing a pro hac vice motion with a district or superior court of the North 

Carolina General Courts of Justice, a fee of $225 should be collected by the clerk of 

court in the county. The clerk will remit $25 of this fee to the Administrative Office of 

the Courts for ultimate transmission to the State Bar in satisfaction of the payment 

required by G.S. 84-4.1(7). Payment to the clerk may be documented with a receipt or 

by providing the check number and date of the check.  

 

o When a pro hac vice motion is filed with the NC Court of Appeals, a fee of $225 

should be collected by the clerk. The clerk will remit $25 of this fee to the 

Administrative Office of the Courts for ultimate transmission to the State Bar in 

satisfaction of the payment required by G.S. 84-4.1(7). Payment to the clerk may be 

documented with a receipt or by providing the check number and date of the check. 
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o When a pro hac vice motion is filed with the NC Supreme Court: Effective October 1, 

2009, pursuant to Rule 33 of the NC Rules of Appellate Procedure, out of state counsel 

must file a motion for admission pro hac vice to the Supreme Court but does not have 

to pay the fee again. 

 

o If the clerk fails to collect the $25 fee for the State Bar, a check or money order for 

$25, payable to the North Carolina State Bar, must be submitted to the State Bar with 

this registration form. 

 

o The NC Administrative Office of the Courts has determined that there is no separate 

$20 filing fee for filing a motion. However, if more than one lawyer applies for pro hac 

vice admission in the same motion, $225 is owed for each lawyer seeking admission.  

 

o If the matter is filed in an administrative tribunal (e.g., the Industrial Commission or 

the Utilities Commission), mail a $25 check or money order, payable to the North 

Carolina State Bar, to the State Bar with this registration form. Mail a $200 check or 

money order, payable to the Administrative Office of the Courts to PO Box 2448, 

Raleigh, NC 27602, Attention: Kesha Howell. Please enclose a letter to the AOC with 

the case number and the name of the tribunal or agency before which the attorney will 

appear. No other paperwork should be mailed to the AOC. 

 

o The fee may be paid on behalf of the out of state attorney by the North Carolina 

responsible attorney, however, the North Carolina responsible attorney does not owe 

this money and, if unwilling to advance the funds and unable to confirm payment or 

obtain payment from the out of state attorney, should notify the State Bar. 

 

 Filed Copy for Your Records: If you would like a filed copy of the registration statement 

returned to you for your records, send the original and a copy of the registration statement 

together with a large self-addressed, stamped envelope. 

 

 Notify the State Bar by letter or email upon the conclusion of the case.   
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Post Office Box 25908 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611 
Telephone: (919) 828-4620 
Web: www.ncbar.gov 

 

PRO HAC VICE ADMISSION REGISTRATION STATEMENT 

Filed by the North Carolina Responsible Attorney 
Rev. 4/4/18 

           

This registration statement must be filed by the member of the North Carolina State Bar who agrees to be 

listed as the responsible North Carolina attorney, pursuant to G.S. 84-4.1(5), in a motion for pro hac vice 

admission filed by an attorney who is licensed by another jurisdiction. The North Carolina bar member 

must complete and file this registration statement as required by 27 N.C.A.C. 1H, Section .0100, within 30 

days of the entry of the court’s order granting admission to the out of state attorney.  
 

PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE COMPLETING. 
 

 

NC Proceeding File #   ____________________ 

1. Out of State Attorney Information: 
 

First Name:  ________________   Middle:  __________  Last:  ___________________ 

Licensure (if more than one, please provide all applicable information)    

State:   ___________________________________________________ 

Bar #:  ___________________________________________________ 

Home Address (Required):  ____________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________ 

Law Firm Name (if more than one, list on addendum with information requested below): 

_________________________________________________________  

Business Address:  __________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________ 

Phone #:  __________________  Email:  _____________________________________ 
 

2. North Carolina State Bar Member (Responsible Attorney) Information: 
 

First Name:  ________________   Middle:  __________  Last:  ___________________ 

N.C. Bar #:  _______________________________________________ 

Address (as listed with State Bar): _____________________________ 

                _________________________________________________ 

Phone #:  __________________  Email:  _____________________________________ 

 

For Office Use Only: 
 

Received: ________________       PHV ID: ________________ 
 

PHV Order:      Fee Paid: 

____ Enclosed     ____ Check enclosed 

____ Not, enclosed, requested ____________           No.: ____________ Date: ____________ 

         ____ Received     ____ To Clerk of Court 

       ____ Not Paid, requested ____________ 

Statement of Tax Reporting:             ____ Received 

____ Enclosed 

____ Not, enclosed, requested ____________ 

         ____ Received     Date entered & confirmation sent: ________________ 
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3. North Carolina Proceeding Information. 

      (Enclose copy of order) 

Venue of Proceeding:  ______________________________________ 

    (Court, commission or agency) 

County:  _________________________________________________ 

File Name:  _______________________________________________ 

File Number:  _____________________________________________ 

Date of Order Admitting Out of State Attorney:  __________________ 

Type of Case (civil/criminal; tort; contract; workers comp; tax; etc.): 

________________________________________________________ 

Name of Party for Whom Out of State Attorney Appears: 

_________________________________________________________ 

Address of Party for Whom Out of State Attorney Appears: 

_________________________________________________________ 

 

4. Other Pro Hac Vice Admissions in North Carolina.               

Provide the following information (list on addendum if necessary) concerning the last ten  cases in 

which the out of state attorney was permitted to appear pro hac vice in a North Carolina state 

court or North Carolina state agency within the last ten years and any current case(s) in which a 

petition for pro hac vice admission for the out of state attorney is still pending: 

 

Venue of Proceeding:  ______________________________________ 

    (Court, commission or agency) 

County:  _________________________________________________ 

File Name:  _______________________________________________ 

File Number:  _____________________________________________ 

File Date:    _______________________________________________ 

Date of Order Admitting Out of State Attorney:  __________________ 

Name of Judge Who Entered Order:  ___________________________ 

Type of Case (civil/criminal; tort; contract; etc.): __________________ 

Name of Party for Whom Out of State Attorney Appeared: 

_________________________________________________________ 

 

Address of Party for Whom Out of State Attorney Appeared: 

_________________________________________________________ 

Name of Responsible North Carolina Attorney: ___________________ 

_________________________________________________________ 

N.C. Bar # of Responsible North Carolina Attorney:  ______________ 

Address of Responsible North Carolina Attorney: _________________ 

_________________________________________________________ 

 

5. Statement of Tax Reporting.   Please see page 1 of instructions. 

Attach a signed statement (original or photocopy will be acceptable) from out of state attorney 

verifying that he/she will report income earned in the matters identified in items 3 and 4 above to 

the North Carolina Department of Revenue if required to do so by law. (Please list the case caption 

above the signed statement.) 
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6. Payment Information. Please see page 1 of instructions.  

 

Indicate method of payment by checking below. 

 

____ Collected by Clerk of Court (if proceeding filed in NC General Court of Justice or NC Court 

of Appeals).   

Please provide photocopy of receipt or check number and date of check. 

                  Check #__________ Check Date__________ 

 

   OR 

 

____ Check enclosed, payable to North Carolina State Bar (if the clerk fails to collect the fee or if 

the matter is filed in an administrative tribunal). 

 

7. Responsible Attorney Verification. 

By signing below, the responsible attorney acknowledges the truth of the foregoing statements and 

agrees to notify the State Bar of the final determination of the court or agency proceeding. 

 

 

____________________________ 

Signature of NC Attorney  

 

____________________________ 

Date 
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