
217 E. Edenton Street, Raleigh, North Carolina  27601 
P.O. Box 26088, Raleigh, North Carolina  27611 

Revised Feb. 2024 

Registration and Incorporation of a  
Professional Limited Liability Company 

Application processing time is 3-5 business days from date of receipt. 

Before filing Articles of Organization with the NC Secretary of State (NC SOS,) you must register a 
professional limited liability company (PLLC) with the North Carolina State Bar.  The following documents 
and fees must be submitted to register a PLLC with the NC State Bar: 

(1) The original NC State Bar Application for Certificate of Registration, attached.  Please note that
the application must be notarized.

(2) One copy of the completed Articles of Organization (please retain the original for filing with the
NC SOS). You can find NC SOS Articles of Organization (Form PLLC-02) on their website:
https://www.sosnc.gov/forms/by_title/_Business_Registration_Business_Entities_Common

(3) $50.00 check or money order payable to NC State Bar.

Mail the above to: NC State Bar 
Membership Department 
Attn: Phillip McWilliams 
P.O. Box 26088 
Raleigh, NC  27611 

If there is any impediment to approving the registration, you will be advised of the problem and given an 
opportunity to correct it. 

If the registration is approved, we will email the Certification of Registration to you.  A copy of 
the certification must be submitted along with your articles of organization to the NC SOS. You can file 
these documents through the NC SOS website: https://www.sosnc.gov/ 

Click the  button to login or create an account with the NC SOS.  Select “Limited Liability 
Company” for the type of entity you are creating.  You can follow this link to aid you in the registration 
process with the NC SOS: https://www.sosnc.gov/Guides/account_management.  If you have any questions 
regarding registration with the NC SOS, you can email Darron Jones: djones@sosnc.gov, or Daniel Crabbe: 
dcrabbe@sosnc.gov. 

The NC SOS will return the filed/date-stamped articles to you via mail or email.  Upon receipt, please email 
the filed articles to pmcwilliams@ncbar.gov to receive your Certificate of Registration. You must renew 
your Certificate of Registration annually through your NC State Bar portal.  You will receive an email notice 
when it is time to renew.  

If you have any questions, please contact Phillip McWilliams at 919-828-4620, ext. 225 or email at 
pmcwilliams@ncbar.gov. 
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Application for Certificate of Registration for a 

Professional Limited Liability Company 
 

 
The undersigned, being all of the persons executing the articles of organization of 

__________________________________________________, a professional limited liability company (“PLLC”) 

to be organized under the laws of the state of North Carolina for the purpose of practicing law, hereby certify to 

the Council of the North Carolina State Bar: 

 

1.  At least one person executing the articles of organization, at least one person who will be an original manager, 

and all persons who, to the best knowledge and belief of the undersigned, will be original members and/or 

employees who will practice law for said PLLC in North Carolina are duly licensed to practice law in the 

State of North Carolina. The names and addresses of such persons are (attach additional sheets as necessary): 

Name and Position         Address    Phone        Email 

(signer of articles, manager, 

member, employee) 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

2. Each original member who is not licensed to practice law in North Carolina but who will perform services on 

behalf of the PLLC in another jurisdiction in which the PLLC maintains an office is duly licensed to practice 

law in that jurisdiction. The names, addresses, and license information of each such person are: 

 

Name          Address    Jurisdiction of            License 

         Licensure            Number 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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3. The jurisdictions other than North Carolina in which the PLLC will maintain an office are 1: 

 

Name of Jurisdiction    Address of Office(s) 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

4. The undersigned represent that the PLLC will be conducted in compliance with The North Carolina Limited 

Liability Company Act and with the North Carolina State Bar’s Regulations for Professional Corporations 

and Professional Limited Liability Companies Practicing Law. (27 N.C.A.C. 1E, Section .0100) 

 

5. Application is hereby made for a Certificate of Registration to be effective upon the effective date of the 

PLLC’s articles of organization after said articles are filed with the Secretary of State. 

 

6. Attached hereto is the registration fee of fifty dollars ($50). 

 

This the ________ day of __________________, 20 ______. 

 

 

 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

 (Signature of all persons executing 

 the articles of organization) 
NORTH CAROLINA 

__________________ COUNTY 

 

 I hereby certify that ________________________, ________________________, 

________________________, and ________________________, being all of the persons executing the articles of 

organization of ________________________________________________________, a professional limited liability 

company, personally appeared before me this day and stated that they have read the foregoing Application for 

Certificate of Registration for a Professional Limited Liability Company and that the statements contained therein are 

true. 

 

 Witness my hand and notarial seal, this ________ day of ___________________, 

20 ______. 

 

         ______________________________ 

                   Notary Public 

My commission expires:  ____________________ 

                                                           
1 If the PLLC will maintain an office in another jurisdiction, contact the State Bar Membership Department (919-828-4620) 

to determine whether the PLLC must also register as an Interstate Law Firm.                                                        
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