

## The North Carolina State Bar

## Registration and Incorporation of a **Professional Corporation or a Professional Association**

Application processing time is 3-5 business days from date of receipt.

<u>Before</u> filing Articles of Incorporation with the NC Secretary of State (NC SOS,) you must register a professional corporation (PC) or professional association (PA) with the North Carolina State Bar. The following documents and fees must be submitted to register a PC or PA with the NC State Bar:

- (1) The original NC State Bar Application for Certificate of Registration, attached. Please note that the application must be notarized.
- (2) One copy of the completed Articles of Incorporation (please retain the original for filing with the NC SOS). You can find NC SOS Articles of Incorporation (Form PC-05) on their website: <a href="https://www.sosnc.gov/forms/by\_title/">https://www.sosnc.gov/forms/by\_title/</a> Business Registration Business Entities Common
- (3) \$50.00 check or money order payable to NC State Bar.

Mail the above to: NC State Bar

Membership Department Attn: Phillip McWilliams

P.O. Box 26088 Raleigh, NC 27611

If there is any impediment to approving the registration, you will be advised of the problem and given an opportunity to correct it.

If the registration is approved, we will email the Certification of Registration to you. A copy of the certification must be submitted along with your articles of incorporation to the NC SOS. Detailed instructions will be included with the email for filing online through the NC SOS website.

The NC SOS will return the filed/date-stamped articles to you via mail or email. Upon receipt, please email the filed articles to <a href="mailto:pmcwilliams@ncbar.gov">pmcwilliams@ncbar.gov</a> to receive your Certificate of Registration via email. You must renew your Certificate of Registration annually through your NC State Bar portal. You will receive an email notice when it is time to renew.

If you have any questions, please contact Phillip McWilliams at 919-828-4620, ext. 225 or email at pmcwilliams@ncbar.gov.

## Application for Certificate of Registration for a Professional Corporation/Professional Association<sup>1</sup>

(Please incorpo	dersigned, being all of the include business designate brated under the law of the Council of the North Carolin	ion in the name of the firstate of North Carolina for	.,							
1.	1. At least one person who is an incorporator, at least one person who will be an original officer, an at least one person who will be an original director (one person may fill all of these roles,) and a persons who, to the best knowledge and belief of the undersigned, will be original shareholders an /or employees who will practice law for said PC in North Carolina are duly licensed to practice law in the State of North Carolina. The contact information of such persons are (attach additional sheet as necessary):									
(incorp	and Position: orator, officer, director, older, employee)	NC Bar ID Number:	Phone:	Email:						
Firm A	ddress:	City	: State:	Zip Code:						
2.	Each original shareholder perform services on behalt duly licensed to practice la each such person are (type	f of the PC in another juris w in that jurisdiction. The	diction in which the Po	C maintain an office is						
Name:	A	ddress:	Jurisdiction of Licensure:	License Number:						

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> "Professional Corporation" ("PC") is used throughout this document to refer to both professional associations and professional corporations.

	if not applie	eable):					
Name o	of Jurisdictio	n		Addre	ss of Office(s)		
4.	Corporation Corporation	ns Act and ns and Profes	with the N	North Caro	olina State Bar	's Regulat	tions from Professional aw (27 N.C.A.C. Chapter
5.	1E § .0100)		ade for a Ce	ertificate of	Registration to	be effectiv	re upon the effective date
	of the PC's	articles of in	corporation	after said a	rticles are filed	with the N	C Secretary of State.
			_		ollars (\$50.00.)		
This the	e	day of		, 20	·		
							Incorporator
							Incorporator
							Incorporator
							Incorporator
						(Signatu	res of all incorporators)
NORTH	I CAROLINA						
		COUNTY					
	_	certify					the incorporators of ation, personally appeared ficate of Registration for a
					egoing Application rerein are true.	on for Certif	ficate of Registration for a
Witness	my hand and	notarial seal th	his	day of	, 20	·	
							Notary Public
					My commission	n expires:	

3. The jurisdictions other than North Carolina in which the PC will maintain an office are<sup>2</sup> (Type N/A

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> If the PC will maintain an office in another jurisdiction, contact the NC State Bar Membership Department (919-828-4620) to determine whether the PC must also register as an Interstate/International Law Firm.