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Post Office Box 25908 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611 
Telephone: (919) 828-4620 
Web: www.ncbar.gov 

 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING 
PRO HAC VICE ADMISSION REGISTRATION STATEMENT 

Filed by the North Carolina Responsible Attorney 
         Rev. 6/1/16 

 
 Complete and mail registration form to the North Carolina State Bar at address listed above 

within 30 days of the entry of the pro hac vice admission order.   
 

 Registration is required in conjunction with pro hac vice admission to a North Carolina 
tribunal.  See G.S.  84-4.1 (5). Registration is not required for pro hac vice admission to a 
federal court, but is required for pro hac vice admission to the N.C. Court of Appeals and N.C. 
Supreme Court. 

 
 Registration is not required for any pro hac vice admission order entered prior to March 2, 

2006.  
 

 Copies of Motion and Order: Enclose copies of the pro hac vice motion and order with the 
registration form. (no staples please) 

 
 Statement of Tax Reporting (Item 5 on the Registration Statement):  Attach a signed 

statement (original or photocopy will be acceptable) from the out of state attorney confirming 
that he or she will report income to the North Carolina Department of Revenue if required to 
do so by law. The out of state attorney must determine whether the income is reportable or 
taxable and whether and when to file a tax return. 

 
Suggested wording for the statement:  “Regarding the matters identified in items 3 & 4 of 
the Pro Hac Vice Registration Statement, I, [out of state attorney’s name], verify that I will 
report any income earned to the North Carolina Department of Revenue if required to do so by 
law.”  (Please list the case caption above the signed statement) 

 
 Payment Information: Confirm that the out of state attorney has paid the $25 fee owed to the 

North Carolina State Bar pursuant to G.S. 84-4.1(7).   
 

o When filing a pro hac vice motion with a district or superior court of the North 
Carolina General Courts of Justice, a fee of $225 should be collected by the Clerk of 
Court in the county.  When a pro hac vice motion is filed with the NC Court of 
Appeals, a fee of $225 should be collected by the clerk.  The clerk will remit $25 of 
this fee to the Administrative Office of the Courts for ultimate transmission to the State 
Bar in satisfaction of the payment required by G.S. 84-4.1(7).  Payment to the clerk 
may be documented with a receipt or by providing the check number and date of the 
check.  

o The NC Administrative Office of the Courts has determined that there is no 
separate, additional $20.00 motion fee.  However, if more than one lawyer applies 
for admission in the same motion, $225.00 is owed for each lawyer seeking Pro 
Hac Vice admission.  
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o If the fee is not paid to a Clerk of Court (because the clerk fails to collect it or the 

matter is filed in an administrative tribunal), obtain a $25 check or money order, 
payable to the North Carolina State Bar, from the out of state attorney and mail the 
check or money order to the State Bar with this registration form.   

 
o The fee may be paid on behalf of the out of state attorney from the account of the North 

Carolina responsible attorney, however, the North Carolina responsible attorney does 
not owe this money and, if unable to confirm payment or obtain payment from the out 
of state attorney, should notify the State Bar. 

 
 Filed Copy for Your Records:  If you would like a filed copy of the registration statement 

returned to you for your records, send the original and a copy of the registration statement 
together with a large self-addressed, stamped envelope. 

 
 Notify the State Bar upon the conclusion of the case. 
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Post Office Box 25908 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611 
Telephone: (919) 828-4620 
Web: www.ncbar.gov 

 
PRO HAC VICE ADMISSION REGISTRATION STATEMENT 

Filed by the North Carolina Responsible Attorney        Rev. 6/1/16 
           

This registration statement must be filed by the member of the North Carolina State Bar who agrees to be 
listed as the responsible North Carolina attorney, pursuant to G.S. 84-4.1(5), in a motion for pro hac vice 
admission filed by an attorney who is licensed by another jurisdiction.  The North Carolina bar member 
must complete and file this registration statement as required by 27 N.C.A.C. 1H, Section .0100, within 
thirty (30) days of the entry of the court’s order granting admission to the out of state attorney.   
 

PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE COMPLETING. 
 

              NC Proceeding File #   ____________________ 

1. Out of State Attorney Information: 
 

First Name:  ________________   Middle:  __________  Last:  ___________________ 
Licensure (if more than one, please provide all applicable information)    
State:   ___________________________________________________ 
Bar #:  ___________________________________________________ 
Home Address (Required):  ____________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
Law Firm Name (if more than one, list on addendum with information requested below): 
_________________________________________________________  
Business Address:  __________________________________________ 
_________________________________________________________ 
Phone #:  _________________________________________________ 
 

2. North Carolina State Bar Member (Responsible Attorney) Information: 
 

First Name:  ________________   Middle:  __________  Last:  ___________________ 
N.C. Bar #:  _______________________________________________ 
Address (as listed with State Bar): _____________________________ 
                _________________________________________________ 
Phone #:  __________________  Email:  _____________________________________ 

 

For Office Use Only:    PHV Motion and Order: 
      ____Attached ____Not Attached 
Received: ___________________   ____Requested on ___________ 
 
Fee Paid: ____To Clerk of Court    
    ____Check Enclosed   Statement of Tax Reporting: 
  No.:_______  Date:______     ____Attached  ____Not Attached 
    ____Not enclosed     ____Requested on ___________  

   ____Requested on _________ 

Date entered: _________________  Date notification sent: __________________ 
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3. North Carolina Proceeding Information. 
      (Enclose copy of motion and order) 

Venue of Proceeding:  ______________________________________ 
    (Court, commission or agency) 
County:  _________________________________________________ 
File Name:  _______________________________________________ 
File Number:  _____________________________________________ 
Date of Order Admitting Out of State Attorney:  __________________ 
Type of Case (civil/criminal; tort; contract; workers comp; tax; etc.): 
________________________________________________________ 
Name of Party for Whom Out of State Attorney Appears: 
_________________________________________________________ 
Address of Party for Whom Out of State Attorney Appears: 
_________________________________________________________ 
 

4. Other Pro Hac Vice Admissions in North Carolina.               
Provide the following information (list on addendum if necessary) concerning the 
last ten (10) cases in which the out of state attorney was permitted to appear pro  
hac vice in a North Carolina state court or North Carolina state agency and any  
current case(s) in which a petition for pro hac vice admission for the out of state 
attorney is still pending: 
 
Venue of Proceeding:  ______________________________________ 
    (Court, commission or agency) 
County:  _________________________________________________ 
File Name:  _______________________________________________ 
File Number:  _____________________________________________ 
File Date:    _______________________________________________ 
Date of Order Admitting Out of State Attorney:  __________________ 
Name of Judge Who Entered Order:  ___________________________ 
Type of Case (civil/criminal; tort; contract; etc.): __________________ 
Name of Party for Whom Out of State Attorney Appeared: 
_________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Party for Whom Out of State Attorney Appeared: 
_________________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Responsible North Carolina Attorney: ___________________ 
_________________________________________________________ 
N.C. Bar # of Responsible North Carolina Attorney:  ______________ 
Address of Responsible North Carolina Attorney: _________________ 
_________________________________________________________ 
 

5. Statement of Tax Reporting.   Please see page 1 of instructions. 
Attach a signed statement (original or photocopy will be acceptable) from out of state attorney 
verifying that he/she will report income earned in the matters identified in items 3 and 4 above to 
the North Carolina Department of Revenue if required to do so by law. 
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6. Payment Information.  Please see page 1 of instructions.  

 
Indicate method of payment by checking below. 

 
 Collected by Clerk of Court (if proceeding filed in NC General Court of Justice or NC Court of 

Appeals).   
Please provide photocopy of receipt or check number and date of check. 

                  Check #__________ Check Date__________ 
 
   OR 
 
Check enclosed, payable to North Carolina State Bar (if the clerk fails to collect the fee or if 
the matter is filed in an administrative tribunal). 

 
7. Responsible Attorney Verification. 

By signing below, the responsible attorney acknowledges that truth of the foregoing statements 
and agrees to notify the State Bar of the final determination of the court or agency proceeding. 

 
 

____________________________ 
Signature of NC Attorney  
 
____________________________ 
Date 
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